Author Topic: Which gel coat to use. Wax or no wax  (Read 4774 times)

notnilc20

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Liked: 174
  • Member Rating Points: +16/-0
Re: Which gel coat to use. Wax or no wax
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 11:35:15 AM »
Thank you for the response. Glad i asked, bc i thought it was the exact opposite. Haha. Now i know which kind to buy.

01Lambiero

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Liked: 403
  • Member Rating Points: +24/-3
  • "Using the skills that God gave me"
Re: Which gel coat to use. Wax or no wax
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 09:08:45 AM »
I found these answers on the following website.  It was a boat repair site but they covered the wax issue to my understanding.  I'm not a expert or even a novice in fiberglassing so I hope this helps.  According to the answers, if you are using a mold, use "no wax" type gelcoat and if you are puting it on top of your project, use "wax" type gelcoat in your final coat only.   ::thumbup ::LAMBOJim

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-forum/306004-wax-no-wax-gel-coat.html

Response #1:
Gel coat with No wax is usually used in a mold.  The first coat is a non wax gelcoat. If it had wax then the next coat of resin and mat would not bond properly. I would say that 95% of repairs of gelcoat are with wax additive. Why? Because you are bonding to the repair surface and as it cures the wax rises to the surface and gives it a hard surface you can sand and polish. with out wax a repair usually is tacky on surface even though it is cured under neath. Some people doing repairs spray PVA over the gelcoat or tape wax paper to the surface. Both by removing air contact to no wax gel coat promote hardness. I hope this helps.

Response #2: